At a glance
| Criterion | Calendly | Cal.com |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | “Always free”: a single event type, one connected calendar | “Free forever”: one user, unlimited event types and calendars |
| First paid tier (as of 1 October 2026) | Standard: $10 per licence per month billed annually, $12 billed monthly; not stated whether tax is included | Teams: $12 per user per month, billed annually; not stated whether tax is included |
| Connectable calendars | Google Calendar, Office 365 or Outlook.com, Exchange; up to six per user on paid plans | Google Calendar, Outlook, Apple Calendar, Zoho Calendar and others |
| Payment at booking (Stripe, PayPal) | From the Standard plan upwards | Available on the free plan |
| Source code and self-hosting | Online service hosted by Calendly | Cal.com’s code closed since April 2026; Cal.diy community edition under the MIT licence, to host yourself |
| Data hosting (as stated by the vendor) | Data centres in the United States (Google Cloud, AWS); standard contractual clauses for data coming from the EEA | Processing in the United States; EU data residency to be requested by email, EU hosting listed for the Organizations and Enterprise plans; Cal.eu, the European version, closes on 1 November 2026 |
| French language | Website in French; booking page and notifications can be translated into French | Language set in the account; automatic translation of event descriptions, French included |
| Appointment booking by an Alyas voice agent | No, Alyas does not connect to Calendly | Yes, once Cal.com is connected to Alyas |
Free versions: the limit sits in a different place
As of 1 October 2026, Calendly’s pricing page presents a Free plan “for personal use”: a single event type, one connected calendar, customisation of availability and of the booking page, and the browser extensions. Unlimited event types, connecting several calendars, automated reminders and taking payment via Stripe or PayPal start with the Standard plan. The free plan therefore suits anyone who offers a single appointment format, for example an initial thirty-minute conversation.
Cal.com draws the line elsewhere: its free plan is limited to one user, but that user gets unlimited event types and calendars, email and SMS notifications, payment collection via Stripe and PayPal, and one-click import of Calendly events. A freelancer who sells several services will find more room there without paying; as soon as several people need to share availability, a team plan is required.
Other free options exist. With a personal Google account, Google Calendar lets you create a single booking page through its appointment schedules. zcal promotes a “Free Forever” plan with unlimited invite links and calendar sync. TidyCal offers a free plan as well as a lifetime licence listed at $29 as of 1 October 2026, sold on AppSumo.
What the paid plans cost as of 1 October 2026
At Calendly, the French-language pricing page shows its prices in dollars, per licence per month: Standard at $10 billed annually or $12 billed monthly, Teams at $16 annually or $20 monthly. The page also provides a euro price list with the same amounts (€10 and €12 for Standard, €16 and €20 for Teams). Enterprise starts at $15,000 a year, from 50 licences, and is only available in dollars. A licence is only needed for those who connect a calendar and receive appointments; your clients do not need one. No mention of whether tax is included accompanies these prices.
At Cal.com, the pricing page shows prices in dollars, per user per month, billed annually: Teams at $12, Organizations at $28, each with a 14-day free trial; Enterprise is priced on request and billed annually. The page gives no monthly price without an annual commitment and does not state whether tax is included. Teams notably adds shared availability, distribution of bookings among colleagues, routing forms and removal of Cal.com branding.
For a single person who wants several appointment types, Cal.com stays free where Calendly requires the Standard plan. For a team, the comparison is case by case: number of people, need for monthly or annual billing, team features you will actually use. Check the amounts on the day you subscribe, as they may change.
Open source and data: what has changed at Cal.com
On 14 April 2026, Cal.com announced on its blog that it was moving to closed source, citing security concerns over AI tools capable of searching public code for vulnerabilities. The GitHub repository calcom/cal.com now redirects to calcom/cal.diy: Cal.diy is a community edition under the MIT licence, to be installed on your own servers. It keeps the scheduling engine and the app library, but not teams, organisations, workflows, routing forms or SSO. Its README states that it is “strictly recommended for personal, non-production use” and points commercial users to hosted Cal.com or to on-premise enterprise access through the sales team.
On hosting, each vendor states its own choices. Calendly says it stores user and invitee data in data centres located in the United States, run by Google Cloud and AWS, and relies on the standard contractual clauses in its data processing agreement for data coming from the European Economic Area. Cal.com’s privacy policy, in force since 20 August 2026, specifies that the company is American, that data is processed in the United States, and that EU data residency can be requested by email. Its pricing page mentions a choice of US or EU hosting for the Organizations and Enterprise plans only, but Cal.com has announced the closure of Cal.eu, its Europe-hosted platform, on 1 November 2026, unless an extension is provided for in Enterprise customers’ contracts.
On compliance, Cal.com’s dedicated page claims ISO 27001 certification, a SOC 2 Type II audit renewed every year and GDPR compliance; the audit reports can be viewed in its trust centre after accepting a non-disclosure agreement. Calendly cites its hosting providers’ standards, including ISO 27001 and SOC 2. If hosting in Europe is a requirement for you, put the question to the vendor in writing before you commit.
When the client calls instead of clicking
A booking link only serves the clients who open it. Someone who dials your number while you are busy usually reaches voicemail, and the Calendly or Cal.com page makes no difference to that. For this client to get a slot too, someone, or something, has to answer and enter the appointment in the same calendar as the online page.
That is the role of an AI voice agent, provided it is connected to the calendar. Alyas connects to Cal.com and to Google Calendar; it does not connect to Calendly. With Cal.com, the agent offers the slots from your calendar over the phone and books the appointment into it. If you stay on Calendly, Google Calendar could act as a bridge: Calendly checks for conflicts in the connected calendars you ask it to check, and Alyas enters its appointments in a Google Calendar once that calendar is connected to Alyas. An appointment booked by Alyas in a Google Calendar that Calendly checks for conflicts should therefore no longer be offered as free on your Calendly page; test this setup before relying on it.
Cal.com, for its part, offers Cal.ai: calls made by an AI agent and triggered by its workflows, for example after a form, after a no-show or before a meeting, billed at $0.29 per minute according to its page as of 1 October 2026, with credits included in the Teams and Organizations plans. Alyas, on the other hand, is designed to answer incoming calls, 24 hours a day: it announces that it is an AI and that the call is recorded, provides information based on your website, a text or a PDF, takes down contact details, transfers to your number if the caller asks, and sends you the transcript and summary, which are hosted in the EU. It does not send text messages and does not take payments.
Our verdict
Calendly suits those who want the option to pay monthly, with a price list also provided in euros; its free plan is enough for a single appointment format. Cal.com suits the freelancer who wants, without paying, several appointment types, several calendars and online payment, or the team ready to commit annually; to self-host it for free, you now have to go through Cal.diy, recommended for personal, non-production use. If some of your clients prefer to phone, Cal.com or Google Calendar allow Alyas to book their appointments in the same calendar.
Frequently asked questions
Is Calendly really free?
Yes, with limits. As of 1 October 2026, Calendly’s Free plan is presented as “Always free” and intended for personal use: a single event type and one connected calendar. Several appointment types, several calendars, automated reminders or online payment require the Standard plan, listed at $10 per licence per month billed annually, or $12 billed monthly.
Is Cal.com still open source?
Not for its main service any more. Cal.com announced in April 2026 that it was moving to closed source; its public repository has become Cal.diy, a community edition under the MIT licence to host yourself, without team features or workflows, and recommended for personal, non-production use. For professional use, the vendor points to hosted Cal.com or to on-premise enterprise access.
Can Alyas book appointments in Calendly?
No. Alyas connects to Cal.com and to Google Calendar, not to Calendly. If you use Calendly with a Google Calendar and also connect that Google Calendar to Alyas, Alyas can enter phone appointments in it; if Calendly is set to check for conflicts in that calendar, it should take them into account and stop offering those slots. Test it before relying on it.
Sources
- Calendly: pricing (in French)
- Calendly Help: connecting your calendar to Calendly
- Calendly Help: data storage and international data transfers
- Calendly Help: event type language
- Cal.com: pricing
- Cal.com: compliance (ISO 27001, SOC 2 Type II, GDPR)
- Cal.com: trust centre (certificates and audit reports)
- Cal.com: privacy policy
- Cal.com: announcement of the move to closed source (14 April 2026)
- Cal.com: technical changes and Cal.diy (15 April 2026)
- GitHub repository calcom/cal.com, redirected to calcom/cal.diy (README and licence)
- Cal.com: migration from Cal.eu to Cal.com (30 July 2026)
- Cal.com: version 4.8 (translation of event descriptions)
- Cal.com: account settings
- Cal.com: Cal.ai
- Cal.com Help: what is Cal.ai?
- Google Calendar Help: compare premium appointment schedule features (in French)
- zcal Help: Free Forever plan
- TidyCal: pricing
